Powerful magic

There are just no words to really express how powerful and energised I felt after Tuesday night’s Taiko class. There was some powerful magic there :-). Everybody gave their all, but I still managed to feel an infusion of extra “all-ness” when my eye caught the other drummers’ reflections in the mirror. The vibe was just pure awesomeness.

It feels as if the piece we’ve been working on has been engrained into my soul, if such a thing is possible. The click-click-click-click sound of the fan in my room becomes the ground rhythm and when I wake up at night, I can fit various parts onto that rhythm… Ta ta te ta ta…

It would be great to have it like this every practise, but maybe I would become complacent if that was the case. It can be so frustrating sometimes: When you’re learning a new piece and for some reason you just can’t remember it, or can’t get your left and right hand to do what is expected of them at the tempo it is expected from them…

Or when you SOOO want to learn a new piece in full and then can’t even deliver on the two parts that you’re supposed to know already… 😦

But this is something I’ve learned in NIA, karate, singing and writing as well. It is just a fact of life that you and your body are not always the same. One day everything works together. You’re able to loosen up and move your body in freestyle dance as if you’ve lost all your inhibitions. You perform a perfect oshiro geri grading form and even help other karateka with the sequence. You manage to sing the full sentence without stealing a breath; and you make that high note without any effort. You write the perfect sentence without reworking and rethinking it over and over again. And the next day … well… You know what? I don’t want to talk about THOSE days…

Suffice to say that I accept (I am open to the fact :-)) that we need the bad/negative to appreciate the good/positive. Hey, and I’ll take the bad any day if the good is as good as my experience Tuesday night!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sanette
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 16:27:32

    yey! great stuff! i love reading about your life experiences. it enriches me truly!

    Reply

  2. Ursula
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 21:23:54

    I’m sure we all felt the magic on Tuesday. Thanks for putting it in words…

    Reply

  3. Lindie
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 15:25:29

    I know exactly what you mean. Even with my new blisters from Tuesday night’s practice & all the sweat that flowed from the heat, I felt great! There really is some kind of magic in giving your all & achieving great results.

    Reply

  4. Ria
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 21:43:21

    love how you write about your experiences
    I regognise a lot…
    thanks…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

