Serendipity

I’ve been cleaning up my desks and found some notes I made in August 2009 that slowly simmered and only this year translated into action. 🙂

  • Intent is the very basis of creation: When repeating intentions, you create habits. The more you repeat it, the more likely it is “that the universal consciousness will create the same pattern and manifest the intention in the physical world”. “Intention orchestrates infinite possibilities.”
  • “Very often we fall into ruts in our lives; we maintain the same routines and act in the same manner predicatbly day after day after day. We set our minds on a certain course of action, and simply proceed. How can miracles happen if we march mindlessly, unthinking and unaware, through our lives?”
    I think the quotes came from Deepak Chopra’s Synchro Destiny. My notes are a bit mixed-up.

I found the following notes from The 4-hour work week by Timothy Ferriss gives my “brave self” ammunition to convince the noncouragous me to get my act together! I often don’t do things because I think the timing is not right. He says: “Just do it and correct course along the way” and “Ask for forgiveness, not permission”. People will often give you reasons why you can’t do something, but if you’ve already done it … 🙂

Ferris suggests that we go for the big goals because the level of competition for “realistic” goals are more fierce. Everybody’s going for the realistic goals, but the fishing is best where the fewest go.

Then things that I believe will be helpful during the process of getting the research proposal done:

  1. “Do not overestimate the competition and underestimate yourself.” Why do I compare the weakest part of me with the strongest part of others?
  2. Parkinson’s law is that a task will swell in (perceived) importance and complexity in relation to the time allotted for its completion. The end product of a shorter deadline is almost inevitably of equal/higher quality due to greater focus.
  3. Albert Einstein is rumoured to have said: Reading after a certain age diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking.

Fortunately the last quote doesn’t say what the certain age is and it says man, so I’m pretty sure it doesn’t apply to me 100%. 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. sanette
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 15:48:32

    That last quote definately does not apply to me either……..the more I read the better I think, I think 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

