Try the sushi WITH the sauce!

Tamashii Daiko (www.tamashii.co.za) performed at the Japanese National Day celebration last year and the Consul of Japan in South Africa, Mr. Muto and his wife, invited us to dinner at Fujiyumi restaurant in Cape Town to express appreciation for our contribution. I must admit when I heard we’ve been invited to a Japanese dinner I was not very open to the idea. It’s a week day, the school just started, I’ve got another meeting at that time, I don’t eat raw fish…

So after I had declared myself open to a) attending the dinner and b) having to eat raw fish, I managed to rearrange my schedule, my thinking, and any possible guilt about abandoning my child in the evening of the first week of school in a new grade around this event.

My hubby supported my effort and we had a “sushi-and-skaaptjop (mutton) dinner” in preparation for my having to eat raw fish. The mutton was my “reward” for at least trying sushi again. I tried salmon roses and California rolls with avo and salmon – WITH the sauce. You won’t believe the difference the sauce makes! It took me from ” I don’t like sushi” to “Oh, now I can see why people would want to eat it”!

[Thank you Maria for suggesting that THIS time I try the sushi WITH the sauce! Thank you Anke, Wickus and Gert for showing me how to add the ginger and wasabi. Thank you Birgitt for reminding me that there might be other things on the menu besides raw fish. Thank you Gisela for suggesting checking out the restaurant’s menu online.]

At the dinner we were spoilt with a buffet of art works of food: various types of sushi, tempura and sashimi, soup, rice, noodles and vegetables and for dessert fruit, cake and some coffee liqueur jelly type thing in flute glasses, absolutely delicious with cream. No words of mine could do justice to the food. Do consider visiting Fujiyumi (or at least their website: www.fujiyumi.com) yourself – It’s not only raw fish!

In this day and age of globalisation, my narrow-mindedness and unexamined presumptions/assumptions must seem strange. In my mind I equated “Japanese” with raw fish, karate, bonsais and technology. Did you know that Japan is actually a baseball nation?

What do I like most about the Japanese? I could look them in the eye without having to tilt my neck!

Tamashii Daiko performance at Japanese National Day celebration in Cape Town 1 Desember 2010

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ria
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 00:48:13

    the menu looks more then delicius….

    Reply

  2. Ursula
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 13:17:30

    Dear Deirdre,
    I didn’t have a clue that it was so difficult for you to decide to join us for Dinner. Now I’more happy then ever that I didn’t take a NO for an answer… Big Hug for being so brave…
    Yes Ria, when you come we will go there alltogether for Dinner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

