Nobody can say I’m lazy… I like the long, scenic route to solve problems…

I made a list with 13 items the other day [ OK, OK, I’ve signed up for postaweek2011] and later added some more [Another issue for my list]. When I wrote them, they were scary. When I looked at them later, they seemed to have shrunk with regard to their fear factor. I completed the first four without much of a hitch.

I even went so far as to say “So what was my problem? What were the big issues here?” about that list and even added some more. Could I not have kept my mouth shut?

OK, so if you don’t think there’s an issue, let’s give you one…

The items one by one, I thought I could handle. Now I feel as if they’re all coming at me simultaneously. 

Hubby left for his first overseas trip – I feel like hiding in my room.

I have to help my child prepare for his first speech of the year (with accompanying poster)‑ I am so much better at doing things myself than teaching/guiding others ‑ I feel like crying, oh, I AM.

My house is very dirty and deurmekaar (at least I can blame it on the GB wind and hubby’s packing behaviour) ‑ I feel like reorganising everything and painting the walls a different colour…

There’s a parent-teacher meeting at the school (no children allowed) conflicting with Taiko ‑ I feel like staying home.

I so hate having to ask people something. It’s like admitting that I can’t cope on my own. How could I be dependent on other people for help? I must be some kind of weakling that I need assistance…

No, I’ll rather eat two packets of chips, finish reading a book, watch some television and be miserable … than phoning and asking and getting it over and done with.

No, the fact that I agreed to give a talk at the Weight Watcher’s meeting coming Thursday did not prevent my overeating.

No, my listed intention (“OK, I will pay attention: am I hungry or am I trying to escape?”) also did not prevent my overeating ‑ I did pay attention, though: I know that I was eating to try and escape… (Can’t change what you don’t acknowledge, Dr Phil!)

No, I take the long, scenic route to solve the problem.

In the end, I did phone and ask, and, of course, they were only too happy to help. No problem, any time. Why oh, why could I not have taken the short cut?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ria
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 23:30:44

    I’m so glad to read that you askt for help after all… good for you…!!!

    No warrier ever won a war all by herself…!!!

    by the way: I like the word: deurmekaar, it sounds a little like flemish…

    groetjes,
    Ria,

    Reply

  2. Ursula
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 12:49:03

    Thanks Ria, for the right comment at the right time… and deurmekaar is one of my favorit words at class…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

