Say what’s wrong so we can fix it!

In school, karate, Taiko, life… we’re usually told what we’re doing wrong so that we can fix it.

My vocal coach (I signed up for some vocal training because of Taiko!) does not operate that way. She tells me what I’m doing – with suitable impressive terminology, of course. But due to past conditioning, I immediately assume that I’m doing something wrong and that she wants me to STOP doing what I’m doing! In the mean time she’s actually complimenting me on what I’m doing!

I’ve read somewhere long ago, that to motivate their worst students, teachers should actually write positive comments about what they did right, so that they could feel good about themselves and then want to improve on the rest.

Oi! Maybe she read that article too… 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. sanette
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 08:21:48

    oi! I seriously doubt that! I am sure she is suitably impressed!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

