I’ve found something that I actually like more than chocolates!

I never thought that I would ever hear THOSE words coming out of MY mouth. You’ll realise how strange it is when you hear WHAT it is!
You may think that the something I’m referring to has to do with sipping, as mentioned in my previous post … but you would be wrong.

I JUST ABSOLUTELY AND WHOLE-HEARTEDLY LOOOOOOOVE ANNEMARE’S STEP CLASS (at the VA gym in Somerset West (Gants Centre).

I haven’t done step classes in a while, because the woman who did the step class at the gym last year just didn’t get it. I pretty sure she didn’t really like step. It showed.

I resigned myself to sticking with NIA. NIA is a combination of martial arts, dance and healing arts and gets you in touch with your inner child, as well as your feminine and spontaneous side :-). In a fun, flowery, almost hippie kind of way. (And I mean this in an exceedingly positive kind of way!). If your gym doesn’t offer NIA and you want to try it out (and you live in the vicinity of Gordon’s Bay), check out www.thetrainers.co.za – Michele and Tanya offer classes on Mondays, Thursdays and Saturdays.

But NIA did not make my heart sing quite in the same way as did this morning’s step class. The sing-along music with the fast beat. The intricate steps. Annemare’s casual (not at all out of breath): “That was the holding pattern.” and then she goes on to complicate that holding pattern with travelling overs, straddlings and pivots to challenge even the advanced steppers.

When you sneak in a quick water break (when she says “Keep going, watch…”) and your eye catches the clock, you can’t believe only 15 minutes have passed. And then later on when you can no longer think straight and your glasses are fogged up, she says: “Now, let’s put it all together”. And then you do it and you manage to remember some sequences and fall in again without too much trouble where you don’t remember… You do the V step, the jumping jack, the A step, the straddling hamstring curl, the L step, the block step over the step, the pendulum jumps: O boy, my heart is beating faster just talking about it!

Music selection plays a role, yes. Attitude definitely plays a role. Experience plays a role. Planning plays a role. How I love it when one of Annamare’s plans come together.

But I’ll have to report back on the long-term effectiveness of step vs chocolates…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sanette
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 15:06:53

    I believe I would have LOVED NIA! But alas, teh gym is costly and now also…..faaaar! 😦

    Reply

  2. Ria
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 00:29:08

    I have never heard about NIA but it sounds great, like something I would like… 🙂

    maybe I should find out about it in Belgium…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

