I’m late, I’m late for a very important date. No time to say hello, goodbye, I’m late, I’m late, I’m late I’m late…

I am sometimes asked how I get my son to be so quiet and well-behaved when I take him with me to class or somewhere. And I often don’t know how to respond (because he sometimes isn’t quiet and well-behaved :-)). I thought it had something to do with the fact that I, in return for his compliance, spend time with him doing something that HE wants to do, before or afterwards. But I also thought, at the back of my mind, that maybe it’s just his temperament.

I still don’t really know why he is well-behaved when it matters (and others can see and comment on it), but from my experiences this past few days, I now know that spending time with him is a required ingredient for peace in our house.

We have had a rather rough few days. There was our big Taiko function in aid of Japan Friday. Out of the blue I got three different paid jobs (as a freelancer, I’m thankful) with target dates Saturday, Monday and Wednesday. My son had his first bus ride to a day-long hockey festival of sorts; he had to be at school at 6:20 Saturday morning. (Please reread the last sentence as: “O heavens, my son is going to ride on a bus with lots of other kids! To spend a whole day without me! He’s going to have to go to sleep without me! I have no control! What if something happens with the bus!”). Also two other social commitments (Reread as: “This is taking me out of my comfort zone! I wanna stay home…” ) in addition to the usual schedule of homework and extracurricular activities (son’s, mine and hubby’s).

Spending time with him thus effectively changed to no time to spend, except of course for what HAD to be done. You know: “Brush your teeth! Get your bag! Where’s your socks? Listen! Do this! Do that! No, I don’t have time for a story. I can’t do/help/play now; do it on your own.” You get the idea?

What did I get in return? A clingy little person who demands constant (so it feels like) attention, who gets sad about everything and anything, who doesn’t want to go to sleep and then doesn’t want to wake up or get dressed or go to school… In short: one negative dude.

Time is more valuable than money. You can get more money, but you cannot get more time.
Jim Rohn

So let me get cracking to finish up tomorrow’s work so that I have time to spend with that negative dude I told you about. I know exactly how the White Rabbit feels in Alice in Wonderland:

I’m late, I’m late for a very important date. No time to say hello, goodbye, I’m late, I’m late, I’m late I’m late…

Leave a Reply

