From being “sick” and “ill on the floor” to “gotta keep trying” in 4 clicks!

Music is a powerful thing. It can talk to you, motivate you and inspire you.

I have to confess that I’ve been driving around with JLo’s latest number pumping it out loud. Because it’s a lekker song to do some “shake what ya momma gave you” on, although maybe not while driving. [And also because I’m pretty sure I can detect a haya doku(spelling?) rhythm going on there. :-)] But now that the newness have passed and I start to make out the lyrics, I must admit that I’m not really in alignment with the lyrics.

I mean, really: Let me introduce you to my of party peopleIt’s a new generationof party peopleGrab somebody drink a little moreIt’s getting ill it’s getting sick on the floor

OK (said with a frown and pulling up of one eyebrow).

Now I’m pretty sure you might have gotten the impression that I was/is in a bit of negative head space: being sick, feeling overworked, missing out on a great gushuku and grading… And if you got that impression, well, you’ll be right.

But things took a turn for the better, I think.

Bit of background: The Wednesday before the gushuku, someone talked about The Climb by Miley Cyrus. “Nope,” I said, “I’ve never heard it”. And I promptly forgot about it.

I’m currently working on a piece of geography and had to search for a term on the Internet, seeing that I couldn’t find it in the appropriate dictionary: landslide note. I wanted to make sure there is such a thing, although I got the impression that the author cut and pasted some info and left some text where it shouldn’t have been.

And guess what I found? (Or did it find me?) The Climb on youtube!

Ag, OK, I got various hits, one of which was a youtube clip of Landslide (A Cappella) – On a high note, which I clicked on (bit of an a cappella-fan, didn’t you know?). Which led to Amazing harmony – Acapella Landslide. Which led to Miley Cyrus The Climb Acapella. Which led to Miley Cyrus – The Climb (Official Acapella).

Long story short: Now here’s the song that I needed for my “dark night” (OK, I’m being melodramatic here). But check out the lyrics:

I can almost see it that dream I am dreaming but there’s a voice inside my head saying: “You’ll never reach it”.

Every step I’m taking, every move I make feels lost with no direction. My faith is shaking. But I gotta keep trying. Gotta keep my head held high.

There’s always gonna be another mountain. I’m always gonna wanna make it move. Always gonna be a uphill battle. Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose.

Ain’t about how fast I get there. Ain’t about what’s waiting on the other side. It’s the climb!

Here’s a song I can sing along with – with, of course, just the RIGHT amount of feeling and even a tear (or two) rolling down the cheek.

Hey, I’m feeling better already!

Leave a Reply

