On torture, bosu and karate. Or: expectations, limitations and freedom, if you will.

I tried a new form of exercise yesterday. It’s called bosu. A bosu is half a ball on a flat base. It is an excellent torture device concocted by superhumans to show everybody else how bad their balance is. And to cause pain to those unfortunate mortals who try and see if they can also make use of named torture device.
I am proud to say that by the end of the class, I could manage standing and a little bit of the walking motion on the bosu without falling of. Unfortunately I could not quite manage the balancing acts… Not even on the floor…

Have you ever driven past a cyclist and admired his calf muscles? If you have no idea what I’m talking about, look it these calf muscles.

Immediately after the bosu session it felt like someone had hammered a stake into the heart of my two calf muscles. Most probably because I tried to cling to the ball with my toes.

The other five woman and the instructor ran (yes, ran!) and jumped on the bosu. Apart from the balancing acts, they also did my personal favourite (NOT!) plank: like when you’re about to do a push up, but you just stay up, for like, hours. They kept their feet on the ball. As if that was not hard enough, they proceeded to do it sideways as well, with the other hand up in the air. I could do if for about five seconds (five counts, more likely). Feet on the ground, of course. [Try it if you dare.]

Bad judgement on my part, though: attempting a bosu session on the same day as karate. Of course our sensei had her own torturing planned out. We started out with the Pyramid and the dreaded plank (on elbows, this time).

What’s the Pyramid, you ask? It is exercises in sets of 15, then 10, then 5, then again 10, and again 15.

We did squats, push ups, and sit ups. When the sensei announced it, I did not think I would be up for it. But I gave it a go. I thank the youngsters who did the whole pyramid in record time. I went up the one side of the pyramid and just halfway down the other side. Which means that I “missed out” on about 20 sit ups. (I’m definitely not complaining!) Our sensei then had the good sense to also include the plank position for only about 30 seconds. But this is not the point.

The point is that we often decide our own limits. We think we can’t do things and then don’t even try. If we try, however, we find that we can go past those imaginary limitations.

Freedom comes from breaking free of the limitations that we put on ourselves.
Freedom comes from releasing yourself of expectation and embracing whatever is right in front of you. – AC Ping in his little book, called Do.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ria
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 00:51:37

    hey… I know the bosu… our core-trainer has at least one exercise on it every week…jumping…squats…trowing balls at one another while standing on a bosu on one leg…planking is also a favorite…side planking to…my first workout with the bosu left me with muscle pains for 3 days…so… take a nice hot bad and enjoy the after burn… 🙂

    PS love the new look…!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

