Don’t dismiss the Barbie. She might teach you something. Seriously.

I’m sorry. I’m totally biased. If you’re in a bikini at the beach and tanned and walk around as if you own the place, I’m most probably going to roll my eyes and think of you as a poppie [Barbie]. Ag, who am I kidding? You just have to be there, no walking around necessary. It’s just one of those things. One with green eyes maybe. You know, like in green-eyed monster. Yes! Do I really have to spell it out? J-E-A-L-O-U-S-Y. And you’ll be immediately categorised as: “Not my kind of people”. So much for not judging a book by its cover, hey?

Saw an interesting show the other day featuring one of these poppies. Two people got to change lives for, I think a week, and each of them had to challenge the other to do something that they often do themselves. In this episode a ‘poppie’ changed life with the guy who did Aladdin’s voice in a Disney animated movie of the same name. He is also a writer of some sitcom. He challenged the poppie to evaluate some of the written material for funniness (listen to actors performing the words and then say if it sounded funny enough) and to do some voice-over work, in effect to say Is this your first time in the market place? in seven or eight different ways.

OK. So this guy is relatively famous in his neck of the woods.

Why did I think the guy learned more from the challenges that the poppie gave him than what she did in the challenges he gave her?

This poppie challenged him to surf and to swim with the sharks. She, it turns out, has a motto for life: “Go big!”. She’s a surfer and a shark boat captain. No wonder she can wear that bikini and is tanned and looks like she owns the land/sea.

What’s my point? One could easily be fooled into thinking that you’ll learn more from the famous guy than from the perceived poppie. And while I’m not thinking of taking up surfing or shark cave diving any time soon, I am contemplating having some kind of motto. I’m playing around with SHOW YOUR PASSION! or PARTICIPATE!, maybe. “Go big!” is something this fat girl can too easily take too literally, so forgive me if I pass on that one! Let me know if you’ve got a good motto that I could maybe borrow for a week or so.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ursula
    Sep 23, 2011 @ 13:11:54

    Don’t limit yourself and you can achieve everything….

    But it is not easy to get the limits (which have been there since childhood days) out of your head.

    Love
    Ursula

    Reply

Leave a Reply

