Insanity, digging holes and creativity

Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results?
Been there, done that. Still doing it.
Therefore I am in fact quite insane?

I rather struggle with this whole routine thing. On the one hand I would very much like to believe that it is possible to use routine to assist in building positive habits.
But routine and a rut is so often the same thing. [I read somewhere that the difference between a rut and the grave is the depth…]

I have managed to – for once, at least – change my routine of feeling down and then as a matter of course sitting in front of the T.V. eating and swallowing without even noticing what is going into my mouth. I climbed into my car and went for a drive instead. I couldn’t wallow in negative feelings because I had to concentrate on the road. I came back energised and refreshed.

Went for a drive.

Went for a drive.

But I have since fallen back in a negative spiral of my own doing.
What is the first thing to do when you find yourself in a hole?
Stop digging!

If only I would listen to my own advice!

I’ve rediscovered Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way. In this course book she suggests the writing of three pages in the morning in which you get rid of what ever is running through your mind at that specific junction. Get all the stuff that’s bothering you on to a page and get some distance from it. In effect you’re making space for better/creative thoughts.

As part of the process Cameron also proposes that you make an artist’s date with yourself every week. The purpose of the date is to open yourself up to insight, inspiration and guidance. It’s supposed to be an excursion to accommodate your inner child/the artist in you. Spending time in solitude, she says, is essential to self-nurturing. And you get to listen to that inner voice telling you “I hate this serious stuff, I wish I could…”

I’ve had success with the morning pages, it seems to free up the worrying part of my personality. But for some reason I have trouble turning up for my dates. I’ve missed a date at the fabric shop and the wool shop. I did have a date at the crafting shop though and brought home colourful paper of various textures that made my heart sing. Of course, judging myself for not having done anything with it yet, is not helping…

Isn't it lovely?

Isn’t it lovely?

I love these textures and colours

I love these textures and colours

 

Leave a Reply

